Beauty, Health, Review, Tomoson
Comments 17

[re]fresh Skin Therapy 10% Lactic Acid Gel Peel #refreshcanada

Are you  aware of the fact that exfoliating on a regular basis rejuvenates the skin giving it shine and glow?

If not, here I is how!

Exfoliating, like cleansing, is very important for skin. With increasing age your glands cease to function and your skin becomes drier and lose elasticity. This causes fine lines and wrinkles. Exfoliating helps your skin to shed the layers of dead skin, which otherwise tend to accumulate making your skin look dull and lifeless. Not only this, it also helps to remove the dirt stuck inside your pores which cannot be removed by washing alone. Thus exfoliation opens up the clogged pores giving your skin the space to breath properly.

11752141_982848521745746_9073955799733166393_n

I normally use scrubs to exfoliate my skin on a regular basis, but when it comes to using chemicals to exfoliate I am quite hesitant.  So recently when I got a chance to review [re]fresh Skin Therapy 10% Lactic Acid Gel Peel, I was scared to hell thinking about using acid on my skin.

At first, I decided to decline the offer thinking what if acid burned my face!

But, then I thought of doing some background research about the peel before reaching a decision.

Here is what I found out from the [re]fresh Skin Therapy site:

Lactic Acid 10% Gel Peel is our gentlest exfoliator which removes dead and damaged skin cells without irritation. Lactic acid speeds skin cell renewal and improves skin’s ability to retain moisture.

This peel is for Dry/Sensitive skin and-
• Reduces the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, and other signs of aging
• Brightens skin tone after first application

I even read some reviews and was amazed to find nothing negative about the peel. So finally I decided to give it a go.

[re]fresh Skin Therapy 10% Lactic Acid Gel Peel comes in a glass bottle. The package clearly highlights the benefits of using this peel on sensitive skin. The overall packaging is quite attractive!

11750656_982848551745743_118053489370464564_n

This peel is made with Purified Water, Lactic Acid and Xanthan gum and hence all NATURAL! This information intrigued me as I am fond of natural products. Moreover, it is Paraben, Phthalate and Alcohol free. There is no use of artificial colors, fragrance and preservatives in it. WOW, Isn’t it amazing!!

This peel works by gently exfoliating your skin without causing irritation. It increase skin’s ability to attract moisture by penetrating deeply into the skin to restore skin’s natural hydration barrier. Thus it keeps your skin well hydrated throughout the day!

As this gel contains alpha hydroxy acid (AHA) that may increase skin’s sensitivity to the Sun and particularly the possibility of sunburn. Therefore it is recommended to use good quality sunscreen, wear protective clothing, and limit Sun exposure while using the gel and for a week afterwords.

11745818_982848508412414_6301881113325641456_n

The gel comes with a dropper that makes it easier to control the amount you use. You simply take a small amount of gel onto your fingertips and smooth over your entire face and neck, leaving it on for 1-3 minutes, depending on your tolerance. Then you rinse it off with cool water to neutralize the acid solution.

The first time I used this gel I just left it on my skin for 1 minutes, just to check if I develop any sort of reaction or burn, but thank to God I did not. From the next time I kept it on for around 3 minutes without any irritation. Though this gel worked great for my skin, but incase someone feels some discomfort using the product, you can neutralize the acid solution by flushing with cool water or with water and a small amount of baking soda.

I have been using it for the last 3 weeks (twice/week) and have started noticing some difference in my skin texture. My skin is smoother and brighter. As far as the fine lines a concerned, I guess I need to use it more often to see some difference. So far, I am happy with the results and would be using it regularly as a part of my skin regime.

You can purchase the 10% Lactic Acid Gel Peel HERE. 

~~~~~~~~I was not compensated for this review. I received this product on heavily discounted price, via. Tomoson, in exchange for my honest opinion. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.~~~~~~~~~~

 

17 Comments

  1. Thanks for the info! I’m like you…scared to use an acid on my face. I’m also in my 40’s so it’s time to do something! lol I’m glad it’s working out for you….I think I’ll give it a try too!

    Lisann

    Like

  2. Sharill Yalisse says

    I thought the same exact thing you did about acid and sensitive skin. I am not a pro when it comes to health/beauty stuff, so I love when someone tests and reviews a product because that way I really know what the product is all about. I am curious about peels, never had tried one before, so I may give it a try.

    Like

  3. I am hesitant to use peels on my face as well. I just imagine the skin peeling off my face as if I had sunburn. I don’t want to walk around like that! Thanks for explaining how gentle this peel works and how gentle it is. I really have nothing to be afraid of!

    Like

  4. I’m still quite young, but I have noticed that if I don’t exfoliate for awhile my skin looks sad. Haha, does that make sense? A lot of the time I am not in the mood to exfoliate because it’s the same thing week after week, and I am not really a fan. It’s boring. But this is new and different. I’m sure it would help liven things up by changing things around! A peel! How interesting. 🙂

    Like

  5. I love peels for my face. I am in my early 40’s but I’m told I still look like I’m in my late 20’s! I believe peels definitely rejuvenate your skin and keep you looking younger. I’ve never tried this one, but it is definitely worth looking into!

    Like

    • You should try it out. but be careful not to over do. To be on the safe side start by testing on a small patch of skin rather then the whole face.

      Like

  6. The use of lactic acid makes me nervous. I don’t know why. I would have to do more research on this product before I dove in. I have super sensitive skin and break out with a rash very easily. Thanks for the review though. I do need to exfoliate more, that’s for sure. LOL

    Like

    • I reacted the same way when I head about this peel! But after researching I was all ready to try it out. Start from a small patch and then apply on full face 🙂

      Like

    • I was scared to the point where I was all ready to decline the review offer but then something just clicked and i decided to try it once. I am glad everything was positive or else I would be looking like a monkey for few weeks…lol

      Like

  7. Pingback: [re]fresh Skin Therapy Peptide+ Intense Eye Recovery Serum #refreshcanada | Canadian Review Freak

  8. I love your photographs. I agree that exfoliation is one of the essentials to good skin at any age. I think the trick is finding a method you like, that is gentle to your skin, and is effective. Great review!

    Like

  9. I used this for 3 minutes the first time and got a “burn” from it, lasting 2-3 days, and quite red blotches on my face but I have extremely sensitive skin. Glad you didn’t have that negative reaction.

    Like

  10. The thought of putting anything with the word “acid” in it on my face always freaks me out. Haha. I really love the way this works. The fact that it increases moisture and penetrates deep into the skin really makes it appealing to me. I feel like I would really feel refreshed, hence the name.

    Like

  11. I agree with you exfoliation is really important to maintain healthy skin but I never heard of lactic acid to be used for it. I am glad you had good results with it and peel works effectively, I might try it just need to overcome the fear of word “Acid” 🙂

    Like

  12. I think I would have been hesitant to try it out too! It sounds like it does a good job at exfoliating the skin. I’ll admit I am not always as dedicated at doing that as I should be. I’m really interested in this product. The fact that it helps moisturize well and exfoliate sounds wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

