Book, Review, Tomoson
Leave a Comment

Becoming Lisette By Rebecca Glenn #becominglisette

“Independent and beautiful, Élisabeth Vigée, affectionately called Lisette by friends and family, has progressed in the art of oil painting faster than anyone could have anticipated. Having received instruction from her beloved father, Louis Vigée, a prominent Parisian guild painter, Lisette possesses all the qualities of a brilliant young painter, but is saddled with a singular disadvantage – being a woman in 18-century Paris. Undeterred, Lisette believes that she can become a painter.

Approaching a marriageable age, her parents have other plans for Lisette, ones that don’t include painting. Lisette finds support in Queen Marie Antoinette and a dashing art collector and French Army officer named Amante, who is clearly intrigued by her talent and beauty. After Lisette’s father dies unexpectedly, her family is left in dire financial straits. Lisette wants to support her family, but before she can sell a single painting, her mother marries a wealthy merchant jeweler named Le Sèvre. Le Sèvre discovers Lisette’s artistic abilities and soon has her painting portraits of his noble and wealthy jewelry clientele.

It quickly becomes clear that Le Sèvre only wants to control Lisette, leading to severe consequences for her budding career, Amante’s pursuit of her affections and even her safety. Lisette realizes that she must find her own way – before it is too late.

Becoming Lisette is Book One of the Queen’s Painter Series.”

e513a6845baf2f0d3ecfb788eb1031c0317ce1ed

I love historical fiction so when I read the description of this book I found it interesting and fitting right into my alley. The book combines the richness of art,  history, France and women ambition delivering a story that is refreshing and worth reading!

Set in the 18th Century, the writer successfully evoked the time period with every minute details that would interest readers very much. When I read this novel I felt refreshed! The author does a commendable job in capturing minute details about every single aspect of lifestyle of people in that period that makes it even more interesting. I really loved how the character of a young woman, Lisette, developed over the entire read. From a young girl with ambition who is never encouraged to a well known painter who accomplished everything is so realistic. I was forced to think about people who, even today, cannot pursuit their ambition due to lack of support an encouragement and felt the pain in my heart.

The story progresses slowly and lets you enjoy every bit of it. The characters are so wonderfully portrayed. I could feel connected to each and every character as if I was living their life. The style of the author has intrigued me and I look forward to reading the sequel.

You can buy the book here: http://rebeccaglenn.com

~~~~~~~~I was not compensated for this review. I received this product for free, via. Tomoson, in exchange for my honest opinion. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

