Home/Kitchen, Review, Tomoson
Leave a Comment

Nubee Infrared Thermometer #IRThermometer

I love baking! It has a sort of therapeutic effect on me! Whenever I bake, I feel so chilled and relaxed, with all the tension and stress gone! Apart from baking, I am also into making chocolates and candies, which my daughter is fond of. Making chocolates and candies at home can be tricky due to the precision in temperature that needs to monitored at every step (especially during candy making). To ensure that I use candy thermometer, but sadly my candy thermometer broke last month. I have been on a hunt for new one every since, until recently I came across Nubee Infrared Thermometer.

11896191_998836970146901_4107375520584926381_n

I loved the plastic clamshell style packaging! It was so simple, yet keep the thermometer secured to ensure its safety. Upon opening the clamshell, I found the user manual and the thermometer gun (which obviously was visible through the packing). The 9V battery need to operate the thermometer was securely held in the package. So all I had to do was take off the plastic cover and insert the battery to get the thermometer going.

The thermometer gun is bright orange in color that makes it quite appealing and visible to eyes. It’s made of high-quality plastic and feels sturdy enough.  With the dimensions of 6 x 3 x 1 inches  it can comfortably fit in the hands of anyone when operating it. The design contour gives you the required grip that won’t allow it to slip off your hands! The large LCD Display with backlight option makes it easier to read the temp reading. You can chose to display temp in degree Celsius or Fahrenheit. The LCD displays two temperature readings:  a large one which is the active or the temperature of what you are measuring and  a smaller one (right below the larger one)  that shows the max temperature of what you are measuring.

11949494_998836846813580_1500584091379243054_n

11903937_998836923480239_5816645932552992519_n

I had heard of lot about Infrared Thermometer but never got a chance to try it, so I was not sure if it would work for chocolate/candy making. So to find out more I started researching to find that Infrared Thermometer can only measure surface temperature so it can’t be used in grilling, baking or roasting, but when it comes to Candy/ Chocolate making, it can prove to be very helpful.

11949494_998836846813580_1500584091379243054_n

So to put it to test, I started with tempering Chocolate and I was really happy to see how useful it proved. By recording the surface temperature I was able to get an idea about how much time was sufficient to melt the entire chocolate! For the candy making process, it also didn’t let me down! Recording temperature at every step was so much easier without coming near to the hot sugar solution, thus great from safety point of view!

11891069_998836866813578_8624975172353147962_n

11891043_998836890146909_7066675877724668437_n

Apart from my chocolate and candy making endeavour, my hubby use it to ‘shoot’ the air blowing out of our HVAC room vents and check if the temp was actually what it should be or there was a difference. The first time we used it, we both were quite intrigued by how precise reading it delivered (We cross checked with other Infrared thermometer we borrowed from our friend). It is surprisingly sensitive, and accurate within a degree or two. Moreover, he found it  great for determining the temperature of attics, basements and appliances. Quite a handy tool it is!

11935031_998836906813574_2980610968586526257_n

The uses don’t end here! I even use it to measure temperature of water in bath tub, So now no more dipping hands in water to check if its safe or not. This is now my favourite gadget for this purpose. With a toddler around this is the safest way to take temperature before letting your toddler into the tub!

There must be zillions of other ways to use this thermometer which I might not be aware of. If you have something to share with me please do.

Overall, I find Nubee Infrared Thermometer a decent and handy tool that every house should have. On top, it is not very expensive, which makes it very economical too! I wish there was a carry case included though to safely store it when not in use!

You can purchase it here: http://www.amazon.com/Temperature-Non-contact-Thermometer-Emissivity-Adjustable/dp/B00JA3BMDW/ref=sr_1_1?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1437424190&sr=1-1

~~~~~~~~I was not compensated for this review. I received this product for free or on heavily discounted price, via. Tomoson, in exchange for my honest opinion. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.~~~~~~~~~~

This entry was posted in: Home/Kitchen, Review, Tomoson

by

A compassionate and dedicated teacher, caring mother, good listener, who believes that learning is a lifelong process. I love to try/test different products and write reviews! I have strong opinions about things I feel are important, and posses the quality to influence others with my words.

Leave a Reply

